Verbal Diarrhea

I know this has happened to everyone at least once.  It can’t just be me!  Words fall out of my mouth like water when you accidentally laugh during a sip.  Now, this verbal diarrhea has taken on a new motherhood form.  The hubby and I do not have pet names for each other.  We use our first names, or just a simple “hey you”.  I have used the term “honey” approximately three times, and that is when I am being sarcastic, like “honey, I know how much you want to go clean the bathrooms before our guests arrive”.  It is a different story with the kids.  These phrases and nicknames just slip out of my mouth before my brain has had time to think about what I am saying.  Last week I called them all “pumpkin noses”.  As far as I know, pumpkins only have noses on Halloween.  I insert the letters n and y on the end of my son, F’s, name even though I hate the way it sounds.  I call him using this little nickname probably a hundred times a day.  It just happens.

My sister-in-law, K, also has this problem, only it is worse.  Sometimes it gets gross, by accident of course.  I cannot remember a real example, but I can imagine her saying “hi my little cockroach” and then giving me a WTF? look.  She doesn’t know why she said that, but believe it or not, it sounds endearing.  Why does this happen?  Lack of sleep? Who knows, but I am sure my kids are very used to me calling them by anything but their names.  Hopefully today they will be cute names like “honeybun”, a popular one of mine, but there is no guarantee.  When I open my mouth, the words will just fall out.

Leave a Reply

