Old Friends

I have decided to treat this blog like an old friend, no matter how much time goes by you can always pick up right where you left off.  It has been over a month since my last post, but hopefully we will have more time together before another separation.  Let’s see where to start.  Summer ended faster than I imagined it would and it took about a month to get back into the school routine.  F and L had a couple accidents at school, I guess that happens when you spend months at the cottage peeing on a tree and then go back to school and you have to go all the way to the bathroom.  The waking up, brushing your teeth and getting dressed before heading downstairs for breakfast has been a little difficult.  There has been a lot of “hurry ups”, “put the lego down”, “put the pen down (in A’s case) and “you forgot socks”.  It does make it easier picking out clothes the night before and putting them on the foot of their beds, but mornings are crazy no matter what.  The more time I have, the harder it is because I am more laid back and then all of a sudden we should have started walking over to school 5 minutes ago.  Trying to rush a child is like trying to run in a vat of peanut butter while your legs are asleep.

This year, we have the pleasure of watching our friend’s (and neighbour’s) son, B, aged 4.  He just started JK and he comes home with us after school.  They call him gentle B, he is great!  My niece, M, who is now 1, comes to hang out with me twice a week.  She is such a smart and easy child (as easy as 1 year olds are, lets not kid ourselves here) and goes down for her nap without complaint.  I am lucky to have three kids who love sleep, and am so happy my sister also has a sleep enthusiast.  She will head to Montessori at 18 months, so I am enjoying my window of time watching her.  I am sure there will be many future babysitting gigs, but having a little one in the house has been fun.  Gives me the baby fix I need while at the same time helps me say no to more kids of my own!  I got a glimpse at what it would be like to have another and I think three is a good number. Little ones, new to the whole walking thing, try to throw themselves down stairs and eat wires, while 5 and 7 year olds are asking me to look at their picture, get them food and water, fix their toy… the list never ends.  On one particular visit with my sister and niece, M was unsteadily circling a coffee table while all three of my kids had to come sit on my lap.  As dreamy as having another baby sounds, I am tapped out.  L asked me yesterday on the way to school to have 10 brothers and to put a sister in my belly for A.  The good thing about kids is I can just say no, and L replies “okay, I will just have 10 kids”.  We’ll see about that, L, we’ll see.

I have also been asked to occasionally watch two girls, aged 4 and 6, part time.  So the house is full, I bring in a little bit of grocery money and I get to do the whole staying at home thing.  Well, I have M tomorrow, so we’ll see if I get another post out.  Until next time.

Leave a Reply

